Thread: Brake Bleeding

Brake Bleeding

Hi Guys,

Just had some braided lines arrive and I've never bled brakes before but I've watched bulk youtube on this and they all seem to use varying levels/quality of brake bleed kits.

What does everyone on here use? Had a look on eBay and there is heaps to choose from, some are probably junk. Any good ones?

Also, how often should the brakes be bled? I change engine oil every 3-5 track days depending on how long the sessions are etc, but what are the "servicing intervals" on brakes.

Cheers!

I'm no expert but I do it as soon as it's starts to Change colour which seams to be every 5-6 track days.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Personally, I don't use a kit...
    Road service intervals are anything up to about 2 years…. It's a hydroscopic fluid so when the fluid absorbs moisture, you'll notice the brakes start to feel a little squishy (time to change!).
    You'll need to make sure your new fluid is compatible with whatever is left in your master cylinder. Silicone and none-silicone based brake fluid DO NOT mix.
    Essentially, the higher Dot level, the higher the liquid boil temp. - Which is useful as the fluid gets hot on track under compression.

As I said, I don't find a bleed kit is really essential, a bit of hose (6mm or so) from Bunnings will do the trick. Attach it to one then the other bleed nipple on the calipers, open the master cylinder then pump the brake lever until it's all out.
    Be very careful not to get it on your skin or fairings as it can do quite a lot of damage.
    If you're simply changing fluid, not lines, ideally get different coloured fluid and add in to the master cylinder as you pump through. That way, you can see when you're done and not introduce any air.

Once the new lines are on, you need to expel all air from the system so it's just a case of adding liquid to the master cylinder and squeezing to pump the fluid through, pushing all air through out of both calipers.